Nosound logo

Nosound band montage

Regarded by critics and fans alike as one of the most interesting up and coming alt/art rock bands in Europe, Nosound inventively combines influences from ‘70s psychedelia, ‘80s/’90s ambient and contemporary alternative, progressive and post rock. The project started as a one man studio project in late 2002 by Giancarlo Erra, but has since grown into a five-piece band, evolving into something unique, focused and powerful.

The music is evocative and intense, with personal songwriting. Influences range from Pink Floyd to Brian Eno, from Porcupine Tree to Sigur Ros, passing through rock and electronic/ambient.

The early demo recordings made by Giancarlo were followed by the official debut album, Sol29, which was released in 2005 and quickly gained attention across Europe. This attention created demand for live shows and following the recruitment of the rest of the band Nosound embarked on a short tour. The live DVD, The World is Outside captured this tour and was followed in 2007 by the limited edition (100 copies) live album, Slow, It Goes and an exclusive EP Clouds.

Three years on from debut album Sol29, Nosound returned in 2008 with the highly anticipated second album, Lightdark, initially given a limited release through the Burning Shed label.

Recorded in Italy, England and the US throughout 2006 and 2007, Lightdark develops further the promise of their debut album and exhibits a stronger group identity, revealing a greater contrast between the atmospheric detail and the walls of sound created by the band on stage. The album features collaborations with singer Tim Bowness (No-Man) and Marianne DeChastelaine on cello.

A remastered edition of Sol29, featuring tracks recorded during the original album sessions but not included on the album, was released in conjunction with Lightdark.

In July 2008 the band signed to the new post-progressive label, Kscope. A new 2CD edition of Lightdark is being released on September 15th 2008. The bonus disc features four tracks not on the original release and the video for Lightdark.

Currently the band are planning to play a few festivals before returning to the studio later this year to start recording their third release due in 2009.

Band line up:
Giancarlo Erra (Guitar, Vocals, Keyboard)
Paolo Martelacci (Vocals, Keyboard)
Paolo Vigliarolo (Guitar)
Alessandro Luci (Bass Guitar)
Gigi Zito (Percussion)

Click here for more information on Lightdark
or here for more information on A Sense of Loss