Track listing: 

  1. Lethe River
  2. You’ll Be Sorry
  3. Dog’s Life (Remix)
  4. Dumb (Der Dummkopf Remix)
  5. That Was Then


Returning after their breakout 2022 self-titled debut, Envy of None reveal their new EP, ‘That Was Then, This Is Now, out now via Kscope.

The all-star line up of Alex Lifeson , Andy Curran, Maiah Wynne and Alf Annibalini, continue their exponential growth of their trippy, edgy atmospheric sound that took the world by surprise. The new EP is made up of very adventurous tracks that consist of remixes of ‘Dumb’ and ‘Dog’s Life’. Alongside ‘Lethe River’ and ‘You’ll Be Sorry’ only previously released on the deluxe edition of their debut record.

Following these, the EP culminates with a newly recorded track ‘That Was Then’. The song undulates with progressive dexterity and is a perfect example of the unbound writing ability this incredible band showcase.

All tracks were written, arranged, recorded and produced by Envy of None.

Andy Curran comments:

“Very happy to say that chapter 2 for Envy of None has officially started. We have a brand new song called “ That Was Then” which marks the first new track we’ve recorded since our debut album release almost a year ago.”

He continues:

The new EP has that song sandwiched between some really trippy remixes that we had some serious fun creating. We’re also looking forward to sharing all of these songs in 360 surround sound to take it one step further. Stay tuned for more cool news around the corner for EON…” 

‘That Was Then, This Is Now’ remains in canon with the band’s sound of their eponymous debut whilst also pushing the boundaries and is a fantastic prologue to the next chapter of Envy of None’s story as the band have been in the studio creating new music and remixes.

An essential addition to their repertoire.

Alongside this vinyl release the band are also a part of this year’s Record Store Day with their new reissue of their self titled album available as a picture disc on April 22nd. Find your local Record Store dealer here and pick up a copy.


Track Listing

  1. Never Said I Love You [04:06]
  2. Shadow [03:21]
  3. Look Inside [04:44]
  4. Liar [03:13]
  5. Spy House [02:23]
  6. Dog`s Life [04:36]
  7. Kabul Blues [03:12]
  8. Old Strings [05:15]
  9. Dumb [04:19]
  10. Enemy [04:16]
  11. Western Sunset [02:25]



Envy Of None, the new band and debut self-titled album from Alex Lifeson (Rush), Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), Alfio Annibalini and singer Maiah Wynne

Alex Lifeson is no stranger to the concept of evolution. As a founding member of Rush, he’s been able to explore more musical ground than just about any other guitar player out there – taking rock to new progressive heights throughout the decades and always in the most wildly inventive of ways. His influence can be heard on countless bands around the world, from indie shoegaze and math rock to heavy metal and beyond. Over the last few years Lifeson has been focusing on a new project that, no matter how well-acquainted you are with his discography, will undoubtedly shatter all seeds of expectation and blow the mind. That project is Envy Of None.

The new band, also featuring Coney Hatch founder/bassist Andy Curran, accomplished producer and engineer Alfio Annibalini and singer-songwriter Maiah Wynne, will be releasing their self-titled debut album on April 8 via Kscope. Its 11 tracks – which ricochet between various shades of alternative, experimental and synth rock – throw surprises at every turn, twisting dark melodies against contemporary pop hooks. Lifeson himself is proudly aware of how little of it crosses over with the band that made him famous. 

However, it was only when singer Maiah Wynne became involved that this truly started to feel like a band destined to go somewhere. Her haunting melodies and soul-baring intensity is – by the admission of her own bandmates – what truly brought this music to life. All things considered; she is a star in the making… “I sent over an early version of the song Shadow,” explains Andy Curran. “When I played what she’d done back to the others they were like, ‘Who is this crazy talented person?!’”

Liar, the first single, came out with the album announcement. Its industrial beats, driving fuzz bass and atmospheric guitars concoct a seductive swirl indeed – thrilling in ways closer to the darker art rock of Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails and A Perfect Circle than anything these musicians have been known for prior.

“Maiah became my muse,” continues Alex Lifeson. “She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like Liar and Look Inside. After hearing her vocals on Never Said I Love You, I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!”

“One of my favourite things about these songs is the intimacy of them,” reveals Maiah Wynne. “It makes them feel different and more honest. There are some heavier songs too, like Enemy, and then tracks like Kabul Blues, that sound completely different to anything else.”

The album closer, Western Sunset, which was penned by Alex Lifeson in tribute to his dear friend Neil Peart. It’s a highly emotive piece of music to honour a man deeply missed by the rock community at large, and even more so by those who were lucky enough to know him. “I visited Neil when he was ill,” says Alex Lifeson. “I was on his balcony watching the sunset and found inspiration. There’s a finality about a sunset that kinda stayed with me throughout the whole process. It had meaning. It was the perfect mood to decompress after all these different textures… a nice way to close the book.”

It’s a book you’ll almost certainly want to be reading.  Envy Of None’s self-titled album is out now via Kscope.

Read More

Andy Curran states: "The original seeds of DUMB were focused around the relentless bass line that sits under the chorus . The lyrical hook was something me & Maiah co wrote  trying to have fun with the 1+1=3 line as well as the “ dumb dee dumb” lines  . We always felt the song had a bit of a Euro-electronic dance vibe so on the remix we really pushed that button. Not only did Maiah add back in some her original vocal tracks which don’t appear on the original version, we added three additional drum loops, some keyboard pads and had fun with some voice samples layered in throughout the song. Lastly we added a new intro for the song as well as an outro which Maiah created after she heard some of the first few  remixes passes. We really just had fun messing the hair up of this song while trying to keep its simple charm."


Mock up image of Special Edition Envy of None boxset
Black Vinyl
Blue Vinyl
White Vinyl
CD mockup